Posted on

12:24AM October 7, 2012

Image

Okay. That was weird. I opened the back door to let Sadie do her business before we went upstairs to bed. I called her three or four times to get her up from behind the couch. The way she walked, I almost went to check her water bowl for vodka. She wobbled across the floor like a drunk. Even her eyes rolled back a bit showing whites beneath her deep brown irises.

I followed her outside and watched her tumble down the stairs. My heart skipped a beat or two when she missed some footing and fell down the last two. She landed in a heap on the damp grass, barely moving other than her short legs twitching.

I held the handrail to keep my balance going down the stairs. My right leg is really weak these days,so I need to be extra cautious. I don’t want to fall. I knelt next to her checking for any obvious injuries. My hand slid under her neck ready to pick her up when she made the strangest noise. It didn’t sound like Sadie at all. Normally she is the sweetest, most loving dog in the world. She never growls or bites anyone other than our neighbors dog when he tries to hump her.

It didn’t come from her mouth. This low pitched rumble exited from somewhere I couldn’t see. A chorus of cracking and loud pops harmonized making me all but run back up the stairs. I fought through it though and carried her back into the house laying her to rest on the couch. I put her favorite blanket over her and took myself to bed.

Image

Image

 

About alexkimmell

i write. sometimes with words. sometimes with sounds. visit me at alexkimmell.weebly.com the novel "the Key to everything" now available on amazon, b&n, iTunes

Leave a Reply

