Posted on

Dear Diary: October 6, 2012, 10:16 AM

Image

It’s the busiest weekend of the year. The Art’s Festival has taken over everything. Most of the streets are blocked off and police are everywhere. Flocks of people swarm in from all over New England to look at hand quilted blankets, listen to the marching bands, wolf down bags of freshly popped caramel corn and Styrofoam bowls of chowder.

Of course we had to snafu our way through the road blocked traffic and make our way to the baseball fields for our Fall Ball game today. I’m not sure if it’s due to the earliness of the hour, or that everyone else had to deal with the maddening rush of out of towners, but all the other parents looked bleary eyed and pissed off too. Once the kids took the field everybody seemed to settle down though. For the first few innings anyway.

Two outs into the fourth inning, our shortstop limped on to the grass infield as a line drive shot from the aluminum bat thumping him directly in the chest. All us parents sucked in a collective breath and stood, anticipating the cries and screams of this freshly wounded eleven year old.

Nothing.

The ball fell to the ground without a bounce. His only reaction was to lower his head down and blink absently at it. The runner rounded first base and the rest of our team shouted “Pick it up!” and “Get the ball!” Instead, the glove slid from his hand and he limped in the direction of the opposing team’s dugout.

The field umpire stopped the runner at second base and scratched his head. By this time our coach jogged across the field to check on the kid to make sure he was okay. I was too far away to hear what he said, but as soon as he tapped him on the shoulder, he threw up. It went everywhere. On his uniform, the coaches shirt, the grass, the concrete floor of the dugout. If there were a record for the most people saying “ew” at the exact same time, we would have won it.

Obviously they sent the kid home or to the doctor, I’m not sure which. A few of the coaches cleaned up the mess as best they could and the game continued on. We ended up winning 7 to 3. So there’s that.

I took a lot of pictures of the game, like I always do. My camera has a really nice lens too. When I got home I uploaded the pictures to my computer. Got a few good shots of the kids in action. One thing though, I don’t remember taking pictures of the puke incident, but I guess I did. Zooming in on the image I swear I can see some thick grains of rice on the ground where he threw up.

 

Image

get your copy of “the Key to everything”

click on the cover to get your copy of the Key to everything

Twitter/tag: #alexkimmellauth

click to check out my Facebook page…

Image

say hello on my facebook page

 

About alexkimmell

i write. sometimes with words. sometimes with sounds. visit me at alexkimmell.weebly.com the novel "the Key to everything" now available on amazon, b&n, iTunes

2 responses to “Dear Diary: October 6, 2012, 10:16 AM

  1. I’ve been reading a lot of creepy stuff the last few days. I’m not one of those “Zombie Apocalypse” nuts, but I’m beginning to wonder.

  2. Zombies and baseball. What could be better! 🙂

Leave a Reply

